CVS Merge Synchronization
CVS Merge synchronizations launched using the Team > Merge
menu command will appear in the Synchronize view. This view allows you to inspect
the differences between the local Workbench resources and their remote counterparts
that are being merged and allows you to update the local resources. Committing
is not supported when merging.
Here is what the CVS Merge Synchronization in the Synchronize view looks like:
The features of the CVS Merge Synchronization are similar to those of the
CVS Workspace Synchronization with the following
When merging, only incoming and conflicting changes are possible.
As such, only the Incoming Mode and Conflicts mode are supported.
Operations: Only updating is supported when merging.
Ongoing merges: In order to compensate for the poor ongoing merge
support of CVS, a CVS Merge Synchronization can be pinned and kept indefinitely.
The timestamps of merged changes are recorded and, on refresh, only new changes since the last
merge are shown in the view.
The Toolbar buttons are the exact same as in the
CVS Workspace Synchronization,
with the omission of an Outgoing mode and Both mode buttons.
From the context menu of the Synchronize view you can perform
a number of interesting operations.
This command open the local resource for the selected change in
the default Workbench editor for the file type.
This command allows you to open the local resource for the selected
change in the a Workbench editor.
Open in Compare Editor
This command open the selected change in a Compare editor which allows
you to inspect the changes within the file.
This command refreshed the remote state of the selected resources.
In addition, this command will adjust the timestamps of outgoing changes whose
contents already match the contents of the corresponding resource on the server
so that the file is no longer an outgoing change. This is useful in situations
where build tools regenerate files whose contents have not changed.
Remove From View
This command removes the selected resources from the view. The
resources will only reappear if the state of the removed resources changes or the
Workbench is restarted.
This command expands all of the selected resource's children.
This command updates the selected resources. Conflicts can be
included in an update but only auto-mergeable conflicts will be updated. Non-mergeable
conflicts will be skipped and should be merged manually using a compare editor.
This command operates on conflicts
and replaces the local contents of those resources with the contents
from the server.
Mark as Merged
This command adjusts the CVS timestamps of conflicting changes
so they become outgoing changes. This command should be performed after
conflicts are merged manually using a compare editor.
Depending on your Annotation preferences, this command will either bring up turn on the Quick Diff annotate
or open the Annotate view for the selected resource.
Show in History
This command will show the history for the selected resource..
Team programming with CVS
Merging from a branch
Merging changes in the compare editor
CVS Workspace Synchronization