Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Programming
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Databases
Mail Systems
openSolaris
Eclipse Documentation
Techotopia.com
Virtuatopia.com

How To Guides
Virtualization
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Windows
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy

  




 

 

Eclipse Workbench User Guide
Previous Page Home Next Page

Synchronizing with a CVS repository

In the CVS team programming environment, there are two distinct processes involved in synchronizing resources: updating with the latest changes from a branch and committing to the branch. 

When you make changes in the Workbench, the resources are saved locally.  Eventually you will want to commit your changes to the branch so others can have access to them.  Meanwhile, others may have committed changes to the branch.  You will want to update your Workbench resources with their changes.

Important!: It is preferable to update before committing, in case there are conflicts with the resources in your Workbench and the resources currently in the branch.  

The synchronize view contains filters to control whether you want to view only incoming changes or outgoing changes. Incoming changes come from the branch. If accepted, they will update the Workbench resource to the latest version currently committed into the branch. Outgoing changes come from the Workbench. If committed, they will change the branch resources to match those currently present in the Workbench.

Regardless of which mode (filter) you select, the Synchronize view always shows you conflicts that arise when you have locally modified a resource for which a more recent version is available in the branch. In this situation you can choose to do one of three things: update the resource from the branch, commit your version of the resource to the branch, or merge your work with the changes in the branch resource. Typically you will want to merge, as the other two options will result in loss of work.

Related concepts
Team programming with CVS
Branches

Related tasks
Synchronizing with the repository

Updating

Resolving conflicts

Merging from a branch

Committing

Related references
CVS
CVS Synchronize view


 
 
  Published under the terms of the Eclipse Public License Version 1.0 ("EPL") Design by Interspire