Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Mail Systems
Eclipse Documentation

How To Guides
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy





The UK dictionary should be installed as the package myspell-en-gb. Previously to install the English (UK) dictionary one had to:

  $ wget
  $ cd /usr/lib/openoffice/share/dict/ooo
  $ sudo unzip ~/
  $ chmod u=rw,go=r *en_GB*
  $ sudo zile dictionary.lst
  DICT en GB en_GB

Then in openoffice enable the GB dictionary and disable the US dictionary. Go to Tools$\rightarrow$Options. Language Settings$\rightarrow$Writing Aids$\rightarrow$Edit. Turn off US spelling (keep US hyphenation) and then English UK and turn on spelling (and US hyphenation). Then in Language Settings$\rightarrow$Languages choose English UK.

The thesaurus with the GB dictionary does not exist. There is a US thesaurus though. To make it available under GB add the following line to the end of /usr/share/myspell/dicts/dictionary.lst:

  THES en GB th_en_US

Copyright © 1995-2006 [email protected]

  Published under the terms fo the GNU General Public License Design by Interspire