Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Programming
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Databases
Mail Systems
openSolaris
Eclipse Documentation
Techotopia.com
Virtuatopia.com

How To Guides
Virtualization
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Windows
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy

  




 

 

Eclipse Workbench User Guide
Previous Page Home Next Page

Perspectives

On the General > Perspectives preference page, you can manage the various perspectives defined in the Workbench.  

Option

Description

Default

Open a new perspective

Use this option to set what happens when you open a new perspective. Do you want the perspective opened within the current Workbench window or opened in a new window?

In the same window

Open a new view

Use this option to specify what happens when a new view is opened. It is either opened to its default position within the current perspective or it is opened as a fast view and docked to the side of the current perspective.

Within the perspective

New project options

Use this option to specify the perspective behavior when a new project is created. You can set it to switch the current perspective to be the one associated with the project type and open the perspective in the same Workbench window as the current one, switch the perspective and open it in a new Workbench window, or not to switch perspectives at all.

Open perspective in the same window

Available Perspectives Options:

Option

Description

Default

Make Default

Sets the selected perspective as the default perspective.

Resource

Reset

Resets the definition of the selected perspective to the default configuration. This option is only applicable to built-in perspectives that have been overwritten using Window > Save Perspective As...

n/a

Delete

Deletes the selected perspective. This option is only applicable to user-defined perspectives (built-in perspectives can not be deleted).

n/a

 

 Here is what the Perspectives preferences page looks like: 

Perspectives Preference Page

Related reference
Perspectives


 
 
  Published under the terms of the Eclipse Public License Version 1.0 ("EPL") Design by Interspire