Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Mail Systems
Eclipse Documentation

How To Guides
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy




Samba HowTo Guide
Prev Home Next

Server Types

Administrators of Microsoft networks often refer to three different types of servers:

  • Domain Controller

    • Primary Domain Controller (PDC)

    • Backup Domain Controller (BDC)

    • ADS Domain Controller

  • Domain Member Server

    • Active Directory Domain Server

    • NT4 Style Domain Domain Server

  • Standalone Server

The chapters covering domain control ( Domain Control), backup domain control ( Backup Domain Control), and domain membership ( Domain Membership) provide pertinent information regarding Samba configuration for each of these server roles. You are strongly encouraged to become intimately familiar with these chapters because they lay the foundation for deployment of Samba domain security.

A Standalone server is autonomous in respect of the source of its account backend. Refer to Standalone Servers to gain a wider appreciation of what is meant by a server being configured as a standalone server.

Samba HowTo Guide
Prev Home Next

  Published under the terms fo the GNU General Public License Design by Interspire