Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Programming
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Databases
Mail Systems
openSolaris
Eclipse Documentation
Techotopia.com
Virtuatopia.com

How To Guides
Virtualization
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Windows
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy

  




 

 

Eclipse Workbench User Guide
Previous Page Home Next Page

Another user making changes

Now that Fred has the project in his Workbench he needs to modify several of the files and synchronize with the repository in order to commit them.

  • Fred will make changes to file1.txt and file2.txt
  • Fred will synchronize and commit his outgoing changes to the two files.

Fred should proceed as follows:

  1. Modify file1.txt as follows
    Original contents:
    This is the contents
    of file 1.
        
    New contents (changes shown in bold):
    This is the contents
    Fred-update
    of file 1.
        
  2. Modify file2.txt as follows
    Original contents:
    File2 is a small file
    with simple text.
        
    New contents (changes shown in bold):
    File2 is a (Fred was here) small file
    with simple text.
        
  3. Observe that the Project Explorer updates the CVS state of a resource. Notice that the two files which Fred has changed are preceded by ">". Project Explorer View
  4. To commit his changes to the repository Fred can either:
    • Select the two files and choose Team > Synchronize with Repository or,
    • Select the project and choose Team > Synchronize with Repository

    Often choosing the project is the easiest thing to do. Let's do that. Select the project and choose Team > Synchronize with Repository from its context menu. When you are asked to switch to the Team Synchronizing perspective select Yes. Team Synchronizing preview

  5. When the Synchronize View opens Fred can browse the changes he made and at the end should commit his changes to file1.txt and file2.txt by selecting JanesTeamProject in the Synchronize View and from the context menu select Commit. You will have to enter a commit comment before committing the changes.

 
 
  Published under the terms of the Eclipse Public License Version 1.0 ("EPL") Design by Interspire