Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Mail Systems
Eclipse Documentation

How To Guides
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy




Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 Essentials Book now available.

Purchase a copy of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (RHEL 9) Essentials

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 Essentials Print and eBook (PDF) editions contain 34 chapters and 298 pages

Preview Book

14. Interoperability

14.1. Samba

Samba is a suite of programs which use NetBIOS over TCP/IP (NetBT) to enable the sharing of files, printers and other information. This package provides a Server Message Block or SMB server (also known as a Common Internet File System or CIFS server) which can provide network services to SMB/CIFS clients.
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 provides the following significant enhancements to Samba:
  • Internet Protocol version 6 support (IPv6)
  • Support for Windows 2008 (R2) trust relationships.
  • Support for Windows 7 domain members.
  • Support for Active Directory LDAP signing/sealing policy.
  • Improvements for libsmbclient
  • Better support for Windows management tools (mmc and User Manager)
  • Automatic machine password changes as domain member
  • New registry based configuration layer
  • Encrypted SMB transport between Samba client and server
  • Full support for Windows cross-forest, transitive trusts and one-way domain trusts
  • New NetApi remote management and winbind client C libraries
  • A new graphical user interface for joining Windows Domains

Further Reading

Refer to the Deployment Guide for further information on Samba configuration on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.

  Published under the terms of the Creative Commons License Design by Interspire