Destroying a Boot Environment
If you want to make more room available on your system, you
can use the beadm command to destroy an existing boot environment.
Note the following specifications:
You cannot destroy the boot environment that is currently booted.
The beadm destroy command automatically removes the destroyed boot environment's entry from the GRUB menu.
The beadm destroy command destroys only the critical or nonshared datasets of the boot environment. Shared datasets are located outside of the boot environment root dataset area and are not affected when a boot environment is destroyed.
See the following example, where BE1 and BE2 share the rpool/export and rpool/export/home datasets. The datasets include the following:
Destroy BE2 by using the following command:
beadm destroy BE2
The shared datasets, rpool/export and rpool/export/home, are not destroyed when the boot environment BE2 is destroyed. The following datasets remain.
How to Destroy an Existing Boot Environment