Delete .pwl Files After Password Change
Windows for Workgroups does a lousy job with passwords. When you change passwords on either
the UNIX box or the PC, the safest thing to do is delete the .pwl files in the Windows
directory. The PC will complain about not finding the files, but will soon get over it,
allowing you to enter the new password.
If you do not do this, you may find that Windows for Workgroups remembers and uses the old
password, even if you told it a new one.
Often Windows for Workgroups will totally ignore a password you give it in a dialog box.