Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Mail Systems
Eclipse Documentation

How To Guides
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy




27.14 Charsets

Emacs groups all supported characters into disjoint charsets. Each character code belongs to one and only one charset. For historical reasons, Emacs typically divides an 8-bit character code for an extended version of ASCII into two charsets: ASCII, which covers the codes 0 through 127, plus another charset which covers the “right-hand part” (the codes 128 and up). For instance, the characters of Latin-1 include the Emacs charset ascii plus the Emacs charset latin-iso8859-1.

Emacs characters belonging to different charsets may look the same, but they are still different characters. For example, the letter ‘o’ with acute accent in charset latin-iso8859-1, used for Latin-1, is different from the letter ‘o’ with acute accent in charset latin-iso8859-2, used for Latin-2.

There are two commands for obtaining information about Emacs charsets. The command M-x list-charset-chars prompts for a name of a character set, and displays all the characters in that character set. The command M-x describe-character-set prompts for a charset name and displays information about that charset, including its internal representation within Emacs.

To find out which charset a character in the buffer belongs to, put point before it and type C-u C-x =.

  Published under the terms of the GNU General Public License Design by Interspire