Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Mail Systems
Eclipse Documentation

How To Guides
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy




4.20. Language Support Selection

You can install and support multiple languages for use on your system.

You must select a language to use as the default language. The default language is the language used on the system once the installation is complete. Typically, the default language is the language you selected to use during the installation.

If you choose to install other languages during this installation, you can change your default language after the installation. If you are only going to use one language on your system, selecting only that language saves significant disk space.


If you select only one language, you can only use that specified language after the installation is complete.

Figure 4-19. Language Support Selection

To use more than one language on your system, choose specific languages to be installed or select all languages to have all available languages installed on your Red Hat Enterprise Linux system.

Use the Reset button to cancel your selections. Resetting reverts to the default; only the language you selected for use during the installation is installed.


To change the language configuration after you have completed the installation, use the Language Configuration Tool.

Type the system-config-language command in a shell prompt to launch the Language Configuration Tool. If you are not root, it prompts you for the root password to continue.

  Published under the terms of the GNU General Public License Design by Interspire