Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Programming
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Databases
Mail Systems
openSolaris
Eclipse Documentation
Techotopia.com
Virtuatopia.com

How To Guides
Virtualization
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Windows
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy

  




 

 

Eclipse Workbench User Guide
Previous Page Home Next Page

Saving perspectives

This tutorial has demonstrated how to add new views to the perspective, rearrange the views and convert views into fast views. The Workbench also allows this layout to be saved for future use.

  1. In the shortcut bar click on the Resource perspective. The Resource perspective is now active.

  2. Drag the Outline view and stack it with one of the navigation views.

  3. Choose Window > Save Perspective As...

  4. The Save Perspective As dialog allows for an existing perspective to be redefined or for a new perspective to be created.

    Click OK to update the Resource perspective and Yes to the subsequent confirmation dialog. The new perspective layout will be used if the perspective is reset or if a new one is opened.

    Saving Perspective

  5. In the Resource perspective move the Outline view so that it is now stacked with the Tasks view.

  6. Choose Window > Reset Perspective. Notice the Outline view is stacked with the navigation view. Originally when the Workbench was first started it was below the navigation view, but because the perspective was saved with the navigation view and Outline stacked, it now considers this its initial layout.  

  7. Choose Window > New Window to open a second window showing the resource perspective. Observe that it uses the newly saved layout. 

  8. Close the second window.

While the Resource perspective has been changed, there is a way to get back the original layout. To reset the Resource perspective to its original layout:

  1. Choose Window > Preferences.

  2. Expand General and select Perspectives.

  3. Select Resource (default) > Make Default and then click OK.

    Reset Perspective

  4. Any changes to the saved state of the perspective has now been undone. To update the current copy of the Resource perspective that is being worked with, also choose Window > Reset Perspective from the Workbench's menu bar. 


 
 
  Published under the terms of the Eclipse Public License Version 1.0 ("EPL") Design by Interspire