Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Programming
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Databases
Mail Systems
openSolaris
Eclipse Documentation
Techotopia.com
Virtuatopia.com

How To Guides
Virtualization
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Windows
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy

  




 

 

Eclipse Workbench User Guide
Previous Page Home Next Page

Closing an editor

Now that there are a couple of editors open, here's how to close them. 

  1. Select the JanesFile.txt editor tab. 

  2. In the text area add a 6th line of text:

    This is a 6th line

  3. To close the editor, choose one of the following options:

    • Click the close button ("X") Editor Tab in the tab of the editor.

    • Select File > Close from the menu bar.

  4. Note the prompt to save the file before the editor is closed.

  5. Click OK to save any changes and close the editor.

If the editor was closed using File > Close, notice that the option File > Close All was also displayed. This is a quick way to close all of the open editors. If File > Close All is chosen, a prompt will appear to choose which editors with unsaved changes should be saved.

The preference to close editors automatically can be found in the General > Editors preference page. There you can configure the number of editors that can be opened prior to editors being reused and what should occur when all editors have unsaved changes.


 
 
  Published under the terms of the Eclipse Public License Version 1.0 ("EPL") Design by Interspire