Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Mail Systems
Eclipse Documentation

How To Guides
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy




Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 Essentials Book now available.

Purchase a copy of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (RHEL 8) Essentials in eBook ($24.99) or Print ($36.99) format

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 Essentials Print and eBook (ePub/PDF/Kindle) editions contain 31 chapters and over 250 pages

Buy Print Preview Book

3.6. Saving Network Packet Filter Settings

After configuring the appropriate network packet filters for your situation, save the settings so they get restored after a reboot. For iptables, type the following command:
/sbin/service iptables save
This saves the settings in /etc/sysconfig/iptables so they can be recalled at boot time.
Once this file is written, you are able to use the /sbin/service command to start, stop, and check the status (using the status switch) of iptables. The /sbin/service will automatically load the appropriate module for you. For an example of how to use the /sbin/service command, see Section 2.3, “Starting the Piranha Configuration Tool Service”.
Finally, you need to be sure the appropriate service is set to activate on the proper runlevels. For more on this, see Section 2.1, “Configuring Services on the LVS Routers”.
The next chapter explains how to use the Piranha Configuration Tool to configure the LVS router and describe the steps necessary to activate the Load Balancer Add-On.

  Published under the terms of the Creative Commons License Design by Interspire