Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Mail Systems
Eclipse Documentation

How To Guides
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy




Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 Essentials Book now available.

Purchase a copy of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (RHEL 9) Essentials

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 Essentials Print and eBook (PDF) editions contain 34 chapters and 298 pages

Preview Book

6.5. DHCP for IPv6 (DHCPv6)

The ISC DHCP includes support for IPv6 (DHCPv6) since the 4.x release with a DHCPv6 server, client and relay agent functionality. The server, client and relay agents support both IPv4 and IPv6. However, the client and the server can only manage one protocol at a time — for dual support they must be started separately for IPv4 and IPv6.
The DHCPv6 server configuration file can be found at /etc/dhcp/dhcpd6.conf.
The sample server configuration file can be found at /usr/share/doc/dhcp-<version>/dhcpd6.conf.sample.
To start the DHCPv6 service, use the command /sbin/service dhcpd6 start.
A simple DHCPv6 server configuration file can look like this:
subnet6 2001:db8:0:1::/64 {
        range6 2001:db8:0:1::129 2001:db8:0:1::254;
        option fec0:0:0:1::1;
        option dhcp6.domain-search "domain.example";

  Published under the terms of the Creative Commons License Design by Interspire