Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Programming
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Databases
Mail Systems
openSolaris
Eclipse Documentation
Techotopia.com
Virtuatopia.com

How To Guides
Virtualization
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Windows
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy

  




 

 

Version Control with Subversion
Prev Home Next


Version Control with Subversion - Basic Work Cycle

Basic Work Cycle

Subversion has numerous features, options, bells and whistles, but on a day-to-day basis, odds are that you will only use a few of them. In this section we'll run through the most common things that you might find yourself doing with Subversion in the course of a day's work.

The typical work cycle looks like this:

  • Update your working copy

    • svn update

  • Make changes

    • svn add

    • svn delete

    • svn copy

    • svn move

  • Examine your changes

    • svn status

    • svn diff

    • svn revert

  • Merge others' changes into your working copy

    • svn update

    • svn resolved

  • Commit your changes

    • svn commit

Update Your Working Copy

When working on a project with a team, you'll want to update your working copy to receive any changes made since your last update by other developers on the project. Use svn update to bring your working copy into sync with the latest revision in the repository.

$ svn update
U  foo.c
U  bar.c
Updated to revision 2.

In this case, someone else checked in modifications to both foo.c and bar.c since the last time you updated, and Subversion has updated your working copy to include those changes.

Let's examine the output of svn update a bit more. When the server sends changes to your working copy, a letter code is displayed next to each item to let you know what actions Subversion performed to bring your working copy up-to-date:

U foo

File foo was Updated (received changes from the server).

A foo

File or directory foo was Added to your working copy.

D foo

File or directory foo was Deleted from your working copy.

R foo

File or directory foo was Replaced in your working copy; that is, foo was deleted, and a new item with the same name was added. While they may have the same name, the repository considers them to be distinct objects with distinct histories.

G foo

File foo received new changes from the repository, but your local copy of the file had your modifications. Either the changes did not intersect, or the changes were exactly the same as your local modifications, so Subversion has successfully merGed the repository's changes into the file without a problem.

C foo

File foo received Conflicting changes from the server. The changes from the server directly overlap your own changes to the file. No need to panic, though. This overlap needs to be resolved by a human (you); we discuss this situation later in this chapter.


[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Version Control with Subversion
Prev Home Next

 
 
  Published under the terms of the Creative Commons License Design by Interspire