svn delete — Delete an item from a working copy
or the repository.
svn delete PATH...
svn delete URL...
Items specified by
for deletion upon the next commit. Files (and
directories that have not been committed) are
immediately removed from the working copy. The command
will not remove any unversioned or modified items; use
--force switch to override this
Items specified by URL are deleted from
the repository via an immediate commit. Multiple URLs are
del, remove, rm
Working copy if operating on files, Repository if
operating on URLs
Only if operating on URLs
--message (-m) TEXT
--file (-F) FILE
to delete a file from
your working copy merely schedules it to be
deleted. When you commit, the file is deleted in the
$ svn delete myfile
$ svn commit -m "Deleted file 'myfile'."
Transmitting file data .
Committed revision 14.
Deleting a URL, however, is immediate, so you have
to supply a log message:
$ svn delete -m "Deleting file 'yourfile'" file:///tmp/repos/test/yourfile
Committed revision 15.
Here's an example of how to force deletion of a file
that has local mods:
$ svn delete over-there
svn: Attempting restricted operation for modified resource
svn: Use --force to override this restriction
svn: 'over-there' has local modifications
$ svn delete --force over-there