Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Mail Systems
Eclipse Documentation

How To Guides
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy




System Administration Guide: IP Services
Previous Next

IPQoS Basics

IPQoS enables the Differentiated Services (Diffserv) architecture that is defined by the Differentiated Services Working Group of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). In the Solaris OS, IPQoS is implemented at the IP level of the TCP/IP protocol stack.

What Are Differentiated Services?

By enabling IPQoS, you can provide different levels of network service for selected customers and selected applications. The different levels of service are collectively referred to as differentiated services. The differentiated services that you provide to customers can be based on a structure of service levels that your company offers to its customers. You can also provide differentiated services based on the priorities that are set for applications or users on your network.

Providing quality of service involves the following activities:

  • Delegating levels of service to different groups, such as customers or departments in an enterprise

  • Prioritizing network services that are given to particular groups or applications

  • Discovering and eliminating areas of network bottlenecks and other forms of congestion

  • Monitoring network performance and providing performance statistics

  • Regulating bandwidth to and from network resources

IPQoS Features

IPQoS has the following features:

  • ipqosconf Command-line tool for configuring the QoS policy

  • Classifier that selects actions, which are based on filters that configure the QoS policy of your organization

  • Metering module that measures network traffic, in compliance with the Diffserv model

  • Service differentiation that is based on the ability to mark a packet's IP header with forwarding information

  • Flow-accounting module that gathers statistics for traffic flows

  • Statistics gathering for traffic classes, through the UNIX® kstat command

  • Support for SPARC® and x86 architecture

    Note - The x86 architecture does not support IPQoS on VLANs.

  • Support for IPv4 and IPv6 addressing

  • Interoperability with IP Security Architecture (IPsec)

  • Support for 802.1D user-priority markings for virtual local area networks (VLANs)

Where to Get More Information About Quality-of-Service Theory and Practice

You can find information on differentiated services and quality of service from print and online sources.

Books About Quality of Service

For more information on quality-of-service theory and practice, refer to the following books:

  • Ferguson, Paul and Geoff Huston. Quality of Service. John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 1998.

  • Kilkki, Kalevi. Differentiated Services for the Internet. Macmillan Technical Publishing, 1999.

Requests for Comments (RFCs) About Quality of Service

IPQoS conforms to the specifications that are described in the following RFCs and the following Internet drafts:

Web Sites With Quality-of-Service Information

The Differentiated Services Working Group of the IETF maintains a web site with links to Diffserv Internet drafts at

Router manufacturers such as Cisco Systems and Juniper Networks provide information on their corporate web sites that describes how Differentiated Services are implemented in their products.

IPQoS Man Pages

IPQoS documentation includes the following man pages:

  • ipqosconf(1M) - Describes the command for setting up the IPQoS configuration file

  • ipqos(7ipp) – Describes the IPQoS implementation of the Diffserv architectural model

  • ipgpc(7ipp) – Describes the IPQoS implementation of a Diffserv classifier

  • tokenmt(7ipp) – Describes the IPQoS tokenmt meter

  • tswtclmt(7ipp) – Describes the IPQoS tswtclmt meter

  • dscpmk(7ipp) – Describes the DSCP marker module

  • dlcosmk(7ipp) – Describes the IPQoS 802.1D user-priority marker module

  • flowacct(7ipp)– Describes the IPQoS flow-accounting module

  • acctadm(1M) – Describes the command that configures the Solaris extended accounting facilities. The acctadm command includes IPQoS extensions.

Previous Next

  Published under the terms fo the Public Documentation License Version 1.01. Design by Interspire