Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Mail Systems
Eclipse Documentation

How To Guides
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy




Debian GNU/Linux Reference Guide
Prev Home Next

6.5.4 Runlevel usage

When installed, most Debian packages configure their services to run in runlevels 2 through 5. Thus, there are no differences between runlevels 2, 3, 4 and 5 on a Debian system that has not been customized; Debian leaves it up to the local administrator to customize runlevels as described in Customizing runlevels, Section 2.4.3. This differs from the way runlevels are used by some other popular GNU/Linux distributions. One change you may want to make is to disable xdm or gdm in runlevel 2 so that the X display manager is not started at the end of the boot sequence; you can then start it by switching to runlevel 3.

For more information about runlevels see Runlevels, Section 2.4.2.

Debian GNU/Linux Reference Guide
Prev Home Next

  Published under the terms of the GNU General Public License Design by Interspire