If you have made drawing or editing changes to the image which you
don't want to keep, the command allows you to
undo the last change and return the image to its previous state.
Almost anything you do to an image can be
undone in this way (with the exception of scripts, which deactivate
this function). Further Undo operations may be performed, depending
upon the number of Undo levels configured in the
page of the Preferences Dialog. See the section on
for more information about GIMP's
very sophisticated “Undo” functions.
The operation that has been “undone” is not lost
immediately: you can get it back by using the
Redo command right away. But
if you perform another operation, the ability to “Redo” will
be irretrievably lost.
Activate the Command
You can access this command from the image menubar through
by using the keyboard shortcut
or by simply clicking on the status you want in the Undo