Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Mail Systems
Eclipse Documentation

How To Guides
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Problem Solutions
Privacy Policy




5.5. SELinux Modes

SELinux has three modes:
  • Enforcing: SELinux policy is enforced. SELinux denies access based on SELinux policy rules.
  • Permissive: SELinux policy is not enforced. SELinux does not deny access, but denials are logged for actions that would have been denied if running in enforcing mode.
  • Disabled: SELinux is disabled. Only DAC rules are used.
Use the /usr/sbin/setenforce command to change between enforcing and permissive mode. Changes made with /usr/sbin/setenforce do not persist across reboots. To change to enforcing mode, as the Linux root user, run the /usr/sbin/setenforce 1 command. To change to permissive mode, run the /usr/sbin/setenforce 0 command. Use the /usr/sbin/getenforce command to view the current SELinux mode.
Persistent mode changes are covered in Section 5.4, “Enabling and Disabling SELinux”.

  Published under the terms of the GNU General Public License Design by Interspire