DROP TABLE removes tables from the database. You must be the owner of the table, or a superuser, in order to drop it.
Note: To empty a table (as opposed to completely deleting it), use either the TRUNCATE or DELETE command.
Deleting a table also destroys any indices that were placed on that table.
The following command permanently removes the employees table from the booktown database:
DROP TABLE employees;