Follow Techotopia on Twitter

On-line Guides
All Guides
eBook Store
iOS / Android
Linux for Beginners
Office Productivity
Linux Installation
Linux Security
Linux Utilities
Linux Virtualization
Linux Kernel
System/Network Admin
Programming
Scripting Languages
Development Tools
Web Development
GUI Toolkits/Desktop
Databases
Mail Systems
openSolaris
Eclipse Documentation
Techotopia.com
Virtuatopia.com

How To Guides
Virtualization
General System Admin
Linux Security
Linux Filesystems
Web Servers
Graphics & Desktop
PC Hardware
Windows
Problem Solutions

  




 

 

Chapter 15. Sharing your desktop

Use this capability carefully

Remote desktop sharing can be a serious security risk. You should leave it turned on only when needed and should not leave it active.
Fedora lets you share your desktop remotely across a network, so that a user at a different computer can view and – with your permission – interact with your computer. This is useful for receiving technical support from a remote location or for demonstrating a desktop feature to another user. You may also find it to be a useful way to remotely access files on your desktop from another computer.
Fedora uses a method called Virtual Networking Computing (VNC) to enable remote desktop sharing. Therefore, the remote viewer must use VNC as well. Apple OS X uses VNC by default, but Microsoft Windows uses a different method to share desktops, called Remote Desktop Connection (RDC). To access your Fedora desktop from a computer with a Microsoft Windows operating system, that computer will need a VNC viewer. TightVNC is a free and open-source VNC program available for Linux and Microsoft Windows from http://www.tightvnc.com/.

15.1. GNOME

To activate desktop sharing, select System > Preferences > Remote Desktop from the user menu. This opens the Remote Desktop Preferences window.
To share your desktop securely:
  1. Under Sharing , tick the box labeled Allow other users to view your desktop .
  2. Next, tick the box next to Allow other users to control your desktop .
  3. Make a note of the command listed under Users can view your desktop using this command .
  4. Under Security , tick the box next to Ask you for confirmation .
  5. Next, check Require the user to enter this password and enter a password. This should not be your account's password; pick a new password that you will only reveal to the remove viewer.
  6. Finally, click on the Close button.
Be sure to inform the person performing remote technical support or remote viewing the command from step three, as well as the assigned password. When the person connects to your desktop, click on the Yes button when asked for confirmation.
Once the remote viewing feature is no longer needed, turn off desktop sharing:
  1. Select System > Preferences > Remote Desktop .
  2. Uncheck the Allow other users to view your desktop box.
  3. Click the Close button.

 
 
  Published under the terms of the Open Publication License Design by Interspire